Mississippi Enacts Breach Law

By: Absolute Team | 4/27/2010

Mississippi has become the latest U.S. State to enact a data breach notification law. Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour approved the law, House Bill 583, making it a requirement for companies in this state to notify individuals (not regulators or credit reporting agencies) under certain conditions.

The conditions that would trigger a notification include a breach of Social Security Number, driver's license, or account number (and code) along with a name. Unlike other states, however, Mississippi will not require that individuals be notified if the breach is not likely to result in "harm to the affected individuals."

The new law will take effect July 1, 2011. The remaining states without breach notification laws would then be Alabama, Kentucky, New Mexico and South Dakota.

Learn more about the new Bill here [PDF].

Via privacy law blog, information lawgroup

Financial Services